English Deutsch

Life's hard in
the mountains.

VINEYARDS AGAINST ALL ODDS.

Steep hills, unpredictable weather, a wide range of soil types – Styria would not exactly seem like an eldorado for winegrowers at first sight. But with hard work, experience, and determination, the unique advantages of the region are beginning to show through.

Dangerous hills

HARD WORK AND BLESSING.

Some vineyards in the STK region are close to 100% inclined. What makes hand-picking for STK winemakers so difficult and the use of machinery impossible is a blessing for the wine: the steeper the hills, the more the grapevines are exposed to the sun, in turn rewarding the winegrowers with a higher ripeness. Located at altitudes between 400 and 550 metres above sea level, they are protected from dew and mildew spread by the fog, and the bowl-shaped sites store the heat, protecting them from extreme night frost.

Soil structure

THE SUBSTRATUM OF DIVERSITY.

The STK region consists of five different types of soil: sand & gravel, shell-bearing limestone, marls, schists, and soils of volcanic origin that ensure highly diverse and individual characteristics in the wine, from the floral aromas of a gravelly soil to the expressive aromas of grapes grown on meanwhile long-extinct volcanos. Covered in herbs, grass, and other crops, the vineyards are home to countless microorganisms that ensure a highly vital, aerated soil structure.

Unpredictable climate

EXTREME TEMPERATURE VARIATIONS.

In the STK region, cool winds from the Alps meet with warmer air masses from the Adriatic. This Mediterranean-Alpine climate provides ideal conditions for the grapevines to produce fully mature grapes on warm summer and autumn days. In addition, diurnal temperature variations of up to 20°C make for cool nights and lend the wines their typical freshness and aroma. This unique climate allows for particularly vital grapevines and is, among other things, responsible for the unmistakeable taste of Styria.

Precipitation

A DAILY CHALLENGE.

An average precipitation of more than 1,000 millimetres per year is not at all rare in the STK region, but rather standard. What ensures vigorous growth on the one hand is a health risk for the grapes on the other, and a daily challenge for STK winemakers. In spite of partly sub-tropical temperatures in summer, cool rains drive the average temperature down the line, and a volatile temperature curve fosters the characteristic taste of the grapes.

STK wineries cultivate their vineyards in accordance with Integrated Production guidelines, some of them are even bio-organic. The preservation of beneficial animals and natural landmarks, landscape conservation well beyond their vineyards, and a sustainable approach to energy, resources, and social issues are particularly important to STK winemakers.

Schräger StrichSchräger Strich

English Deutsch

Life's hard in
the mountains.

WEINBERGE, DIE EIGENTLICH GAR KEINE SEIN SOLLTEN.

Steile Hänge, unberechenbares Wetter und unterschiedliche Böden – auf den ersten Blick ist die Steiermark nicht für den Weinbau gemacht. Durch harte Arbeit, Erfahrung und Willenskraft offenbart die Region jedoch nach und nach ihre einzigartigen Vorzüge. 

Extreme Steigungen

SCHWERSTARBEIT UND SEGEN.

Annähernd 100 Prozent Steigung weisen manche Weinberge in der STK-Region auf. Was die Handlese für die STK-Winzer zusätzlich erschwert und den Einsatz von Maschinen unmöglich macht, ist für den Wein ein Segen: Die Reben bekommen durch die steilen Hänge mehr Sonneneinstrahlung und bedanken sich mit höherem Reifegrad. Die Seehöhen von 400 bis 550 Metern bewahren zudem vor Taunässe sowie Fäulnis durch Nebel und die Kessellagen speichern Wärme und schützen so vor klirrend kalten Nächten.

Bodenstruktur

DER GRUNDSTEIN DER VIELFALT.

Das Fundament der STK-Region besteht aus fünf verschiedenen Böden: Sand & Schotter, Muschelkalk, Mergel, Schiefer und vulkanisch geprägte Böden sorgen für mannigfaltige und individuelle Charakteristika im Wein, von den floralen Aromen des Schotterbodens bis hin zu der aromatischen Kraft des Vulkanlandes. Die von Kräutern, Gräsern und Pflanzen besiedelten Böden machen die Weingärten zum Lebensraum von zahlreichen Kleinstlebewesen, die im Gegenzug für vitales und aufgelockertes Erdreich sorgen.

Unberechen­bares Klima

EXTREME TEMPERATUR­SCHWANKUNGEN

In der STK-Region treffen kühle alpine Winde auf warme Luftmassen von der Adria. Dieses mediterran-alpine Klima fördert die ideale Ausreifung der Trauben in den warmen Sommer- und Herbsttagen. Zugleich sorgen Temperaturschwankungen von bis zu 20 Grad für kühle Nächte, die den Weinen Frische und Aromatik verleihen. Das einmalige Klima begünstigt besonders vitale Reben und zeichnet für den unverwechselbaren Geschmack der Steiermark mitverantwortlich. 

Niederschlag

EINE TÄGLICHE HERAUSFORDERUNG.

Über 1000 Millimeter Niederschlag sind in der STK-Region keine Seltenheit, sondern der Normalfall. Was einerseits für enormes Wachstum sorgt, gefährdet zugleich die Gesundheit der Trauben und ist für die STK-Winzer eine tägliche Herausforderung. Trotz teils subtropischer Hitzephasen im Sommer sorgt der kühlende Regen für eine Absenkung der Durchschnittstemperaturen und fördert durch den unberechenbaren Witterungsverlauf den charakteristischen Geschmack der Trauben. 

Die STK-Weingüter arbeiten in ihren Weingärten nach Richtlinien der integrierten Produktion, einige Weingüter sogar biologisch-organisch. Der Erhalt von Nützlingen, Naturdenkmälern, die Landschaftspflege über die Weingärten hinaus und ein nachhaltiger Zugang zu Energie, Ressourcen und sozialen Belangen sind den STK-Winzern besonders wichtig.

Schräger StrichSchräger Strich